You’re not from around here.

How to spot a tourist:

  1. Camera
  2. Maps
  3. Bright colored vest
2014-11-24 09.11.38

When you hear the whistle, find your buddy.



This could be a racist story if I was in the U.S., but I’m not so:

It was 7:15 pm when I returned home from Muay Thai class so the sun had fully set.

I was jogging up the dimly lit stairwell to my apartment by taking a couple steps at a time. As I am midway up level three I suddenly see only white teeth in the shape of a smile at the top of the stairs. I am startled and the smiling figure realizes this. “Habari (how are you?). Did I scare you?” the security guard asks.

“Yeah, your… uhh… dark features blend in with the dark stairwell.”

He laughs and I continue up past him with my heart beating very fast.

This entry was posted in Kenya, You are not from around here? and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment