Thanksgiving in Nairobi

Anna and Wendy came to visit for the week which shifted the balance to four Americans in our group! Together with Eileen we were able to recreate some of our favorite Thanksgiving dishes.

It is tough to be away from family on such an important day. Fortunately Beverley, Caroline, and Lisa built up my excitement by talking about this dinner for a month which made this slightly depressing day away from family something to look forward to! It was fun to share our traditions while also explaining the origins of the holiday: something about Native Americans, Pilgrims, and small pox blankets (okay, I don’t actually remember the real story). Beverley, as a joke, had a feather headband and asked if we are supposed to sing the national anthem before we eat.

IMG_1712

The main dish is key to the holiday, but I was not able to find turkey. When I tried to explain that a turkey is a large chicken, they brought out a large chicken. It is a small difference and chicken is similar enough.

Anna brought everything else that I could not find here: cranberries, pumpkin filling (for pie), quality cheese, and stuffing.

Thanksgiving

Caroline, Beverley, Eileen, Kevin, Lisa, Anna, (Wendy took the picture)

 To end with an American stereotype, which is fitting for typical Thanksgivings:

“I don’t stop eating when I’m full. The meal isn’t over when I’m full. It’s over when I hate myself.” -Louis C.K

This entry was posted in Kenya and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment