A trip to the black… err… underground markets

I was told I have been neglecting the views of the city and culture of Nairobi. There are many nice supermarkets and malls throughout the city, but as you walk around you will find stands where you can buy… well, anything. Used, of course.

Are these your shoes? Perhaps you donated them and are now being sold between $2-10.

shoes

I showed in an earlier post how vendors sell the exact same product next to each other. I always think how would I out compete my neighbor. Selling roasted nuts? Maybe offer water and soda too. Here at this shoe shop it was immediately obvious: a fold out chair so people can sit while trying on the shoes.

Pants for only 50 KSH (~$0.50)!

Kevin: “I got maize, avocados, and bananas… was a child on our shopping list?”

Caroline: “KEVIN! That child is not for sale… I think she is the cashier!”

Child for sale?

Child for sale?

Seeing us next to her stale, a women who was very close by tired to sell us some fruit. They are not bad or irresponsible parents, it was just a funny view.

It is very convenient to spontaneously buy produce (with an outer peel) as a snack on my way home from work.

This entry was posted in Kenya, You are not from around here? and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment